Converting a dynamic Manila site into a static site

Day 2 of my exploration of Manila sites in the new world. :-)

I have a lot of sites that are preserved as part of the record, but are no longer being edited. Examples include thetwowayweb.com, greatvavavoom.com, xmlrpc.com. It would be a lot easier for me if they were static sites served by Apache. They’d also last longer as well, since Apache hosting is a lot more common than Manila hosting (a vast understatement).

So I’m going to take notes as I convert thetwowayweb.com into a static site.

1. I created a couple of new hosts, static.thetwowayweb.com and manila.thetwowayweb.com. The former is where I’m rendering the content and the latter is my editorial site.

2. Rather than accepting the default folder location and URL, I wanted to change them, so searched the root file and found the location of the static site. It’s in #newssite.staticsite and the info about the location is in the #ftpSite sub-table. I changed url and folder to point at the places I wanted them to point.

3. To render the site fully, I went to the Admin page in the Editors Only menu. In the Static Rendering section I clicked on the Render this Site button. It generated a list of URLs of pages that it had statically rendered.

4. I then pointed thetwowayweb.com at the folder. The move is complete. Now to clean things up I just need to generate an .htaccess file to redirect the old URLs to the new ones.

5. To generate the .htaccess file, I wrote a script, which I released in workspace.userlandSamples at manilaHtaccessGen.

The resulting static site works pretty well, imho.

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] zweiten Tag seiner Manila-Experimente gelang Dave Winer der Durchbruch: Converting a dynamic Manila site into a static site. Und im Überschwang der Gefühle hat er auch noch gleich versprochen, daß Manila (und Radio […]

    Reply

  2. […] The biggest piece of this is manila.root. I’ve been spending time in the last few days verifying that it works inside the OPML Editor. I have a dynamic site running, manila.thetwowayweb.com, and a […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

