OPML Universal app available for testing

A few days ago I tried to run the OPML app on one of the newsroom computers at NYU, and was thwarted because Rosetta was not installed, and I couldn’t install it because I didn’t have the admin password for the computer (nor should I).

So I posted a note on the Frontier-kernel list asking for help, and within a few hours Brent Simmons had posted a Universal version of the OPML app.

http://static.opml.org/opmlEditor/macintosh/OPMLAppUniversal.zip

I’ve installed it on my laptop and so far it seems to be working fine. I’m offering this here for adventurous users to test out. Please report your experience here. If it works, I’ll produce a new DMG for Mac users with this app replacing the PowerPC-only version.

To use this version, download the Mac version of the OPML Editor, and replace the OPML app with this one.

17 responses to this post.

  1. […] Editor universal app testing See this announcement on the Frontier News […]

    Reply

  2. Posted by elasticthreads on March 12, 2010 at 11:51 pm

    Thanks for this (and thanks, Brent).

    Took me a bit to figure out I needed to download the official version of OPML Editor and then replace the PPC version with the universal version.

    Just wondering if here, or where, is the place to look/ask for support questions. I’m new to the OPML Editor.

    Two that I’ve got right now, related to River2:

    1. I’d like to insert a link next to each newsitem to send it to instapaper. How can I parse out the newsitems URL? And then how can I change the HTML of my NewsRiver to insert the instapaper link?

    2. Is it at all possible to serve up my NewsRiver via Dropbox?

    Reply

    • I’m not an Instapaper user so I’m not exactly sure what #1 means. If you explain it further perhaps I can do something here.

      However, I am a Dropbox user and I really like the idea of River2 scanning into a Dropbox folder. That would be easy to set up and quite useful. It may take a few days to get to doing it, but I’ll take a look soon. Thanks for the suggestion.

      Reply

      • Instapaper does one thing really nicely: it basically lets you mark a bunch of pages as ‘to be read later’. It then extracts the core text of the pages and stores them on the iPhone/iPod touch app – you can also download an ePub or Kindle file so you can read lots of web articles on your eBook reader.

        I haven’t used NewsRiver for a while, but it should be simple enough to have a little JavaScript that adds an ‘Add to Instapaper’ link next to each item that just triggers a call to Instapaper’s API.

      • Posted by elasticthreads on March 13, 2010 at 2:38 pm

        In the River of News metaphor, Instapaper is the slow stream I diverge off into my garden for a more contained, full read.

        The Instapaper API is uses a simple HTTP interface (you can read about it here: http://is.gd/awzis), basically you’re sending the URL of the article, your username/password (or some token).

        Here’s an example javascript:
        var this = ‘HTTP://NEWSITEMSURL.COM/EXAMPLE’;
        var a=”https://www.instapaper.com/api/add?url=”+escape(this)+”auto-title=1&username=”+USERNAME+”&password=”+PASSWORD;
        popup_window=window.open(a);

      • Posted by elasticthreads on March 13, 2010 at 2:41 pm

        Yea. OPML scanning into Dropbox folder where there’s an index.html / css file you can stylize as a way of easily putting out a public river of news, even, for example, an iphone optimized version…

      • instapaper, by the way, is the *other* brainchild of marco @ tumblr

  3. […] For Thrill Seekers Only: OPML Universal app available for testing. […]

    Reply

  4. The universal version runs on my Snow Leopard box.

    I tried just replacing the app in my OPML folder. That didn’t work too well, but then I have no idea what state I left the editor in last time I fiddled about.

    Fresh download of OPML.dmg. Copy universal application into the OPML folder. Run it.

    Configures, runs.

    I have tried installing a couple of tools, but they aren’t working (WordPress, Howto) – these are setup issues and OS issues, not the actual application “not working”.

    River2 works fine.

    Reply

  5. Posted by unclespeedo on March 15, 2010 at 9:46 am

    I copied the new binary over my prior installation of OPML and everything is ticking along nicely.

    unclemini:~ rspeed$ uname -a
    Darwin unclemini.local 10.2.0 Darwin Kernel Version 10.2.0: Tue Nov 3 10:37:10 PST 2009; root:xnu-1486.2.11~1/RELEASE_I386 i386

    Reply

  6. Thank you Brent and Dave!

    I copied over just the app and it appears to be working just fine AND feels much snappier.

    Is rpc.opml.org still working? On my machine I get the following error message . . . but this was happening before the app update.

    “The server, rpc.opml.org, returned error code 7: Can’t evaluate the expression because the name “opmlCommunityServer” hasn’t been defined.”

    Reply

  7. […] new, almost surprising way. The idea was suggested by a user named elasticthreads in a very simple comment on the Frontier News […]

    Reply

  8. […] new, almost surprising way. The idea was suggested by a user named elasticthreads in a very simple comment on the Frontier News blog. […]

    Reply

  9. I think I’ll try this on my the old PowerBook G4 I recently acquired…I’ll let you know if I have any issues!

    Reply

  10. Here’s a problem which I don’t recall seeing in the previous version but am now seeing in the universal binary version.

    Command-N
    enter some text (optional)
    Command-S
    save file as (for example) “test.opml”
    the title bar for this new file will indicate “.opml”

    If I look at the file’s attributes (command click on title bar and look inside /atts the “title” att is indeed .opml

    If I look at the f attribute it points to the correct directory but the file is “.opml”. If I change the value of the f attribute to what I actually want, and command-s, the file will save with the name I’ve entered and the title bar will display correctly. Trying the same trick with the “title” att does not work.

    Is anyone else seeing this?

    Reply

  11. Posted by elasticthreads on March 22, 2010 at 12:45 am

    Brent, (if you’re still listening…)
    I was wondering if you can post somewhere either exactly what you had to do the Frontier xcode project to get it to build universal or to re commit the changes to the source so that other can build/play with Frontier/OPML xcode project.

    I just tried to build Frontier_v10.1a10 and had no luck (cc1: error: unrecognized command line option “-Wno-long-double”)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

